President's Letter

January 2021

 Officers, Board Members, Delegates, Alternates, Advisors and Guests
SUBJECT: 2021 Annual Meeting

With the continued concerns regarding the spread of COVID-19, the National Cotton Council has replaced the in-person 2021 Annual Meeting scheduled to be held in Nashville, TN, with a fully virtual meeting.  Committee meetings will begin Tuesday, January 19, and end with the convention’s final event, the General Session, on Thursday, February 11.  You will receive an email from Council staff with important Zoom meeting details that you will need in order to participate in your assigned standing committee meeting(s).  A complete meeting schedule of events can be found on the Annual Meeting website,

Policy development will begin with the six program committee meetings held Tuesday, February 2 and Wednesday, February 3.  Every Council delegate has been asked to serve on one of the six program committees. Policy recommendations will be distributed to all committee members via email the week prior to these meetings.  All recommended policy changes will be sent to the NCC Board for review on February 9.

The interest caucuses will meet on the afternoon of February 9 and review changes made by the program committees and Board. This opportunity to review the program committee recommendations in depth will enable the delegate body to consider the resolutions during the General Session without a lengthy review process. This approach is not meant to circumvent any debate or discussion. Delegates will have the opportunity to initiate discussion on the recommendations during the General Session.

On February 11, the recommendations will be presented to all delegates during the virtual General Session.  Also included in the General Session will be the 2020 activities report from Council Chairman Kent Fountain.

I encourage all Annual Meeting attendees to thank our sponsors for their generous support.  Your support in participating in these important virtual meetings is appreciated.   

Gary M. Adams
President & CEO