Pelosi Announces Second Committee Assignments for Freshmen Members

Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced that the House Democratic Steering Committee approved second committee assignments for freshmen Members.

January 9, 2007
Contact: Marjory Walker
(901) 274-9030

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced today that the House Democratic Steering Committee approved second committee assignments for freshmen Members.  “Our new Members will bring a spirit of renewal and hope for the American people that will energize and invigorate the Democratic Caucus as we take American in a New Direction,” Pelosi said. “Their diversity and vast array of personal experience on which to draw on will ensure that all Americans, not just the privileged few, are given a voice in the halls of Congress.”

The new Committee members are:

  • Agriculture Committee:
    • Congresswoman Nancy Boyda of Kansas
    • Congressman Joe Donnelly of Indiana
    • Congressman Brad Ellsworth of Indiana
    • Congresswoman Kirsten Gillibrand of New York
    • Congressman Steve Kagen of Wisconsin
    • Congressman Tim Mahoney of Florida
    • Congressman Zack Space of Ohio
  • Armed Services Committee:
    • Congresswoman Kathy Castor of Florida
    • Congressman David Loebsack of Iowa
    • Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter  of New Hampshire
  • Budget Committee:
    • Congresswoman Betty Sutton of Ohio
  • Education and Labor Committee:
    • Congresswoman Yvette Clarke of New York
    • Congressman Joe Courtney of Connecticut
    • Congresswoman Mazie Hirono of Hawaii
    • Congressman Joe Sestak of Pennsylvania
  • Financial Services Committee:
    • Congressman Paul Hodes of New Hampshire
    • Congressman Chris Murphy of Connecticut
  • Foreign Affairs Committee:
    • Congressman Ron Klein of Florida
    • Congressman Albio Sires of New Jersey
  • Homeland Security Committee:
    • Congressman Chris Carney of Pennsylvania
    • Congressman Ed Perlmutter of Colorado
  • Intelligence Committee:
    • Congressman Patrick Murphy of Pennsylvania
  • Judiciary Committee:
    • Congressman Keith Ellison of Minnesota
    • Congressman Hank Johnson of Georgia
  • Natural Resources Committee:
    • Congressman John Sarbanes of Maryland
  • Oversight and Government Reform Committee:
    • Congressman Bruce Braley of Iowa
    • Congressman Peter Welch of Vermont
    • Congressman John Yarmuth of Kentucky
  • Science Committee:
    • Congressman Michael Arcuri of New York
    • Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords of Arizona
    • Congressman Nick Lampson of Texas
    • Congressman Jerry McNerney of California
    • Congressman Charles Wilson of Ohio
  • Small Business Committee:
    • Congressman Heath Shuler of North Carolina
  • Transportation and Infrastructure Committee:
    • Congressman Jason Altmire of Pennsylvania
    • Congressman Steve Cohen of Tennessee
    • Congressman Tim Walz of Minnesota
  • Veterans’ Affairs Committee:
    • Congressman John Hall of New York
    • Congressman Phil Hare of Illinois
    • Congressman Harry Mitchell of Arizona