

P.O. Box 2995 • Cordova, TN 38088-2995 (901) 274-9030 • FAX (901) 725-0510 www.cotton.org

PRODUCERS • GINNERS • WAREHOUSEMEN • MERCHANTS • COTTONSEED • COOPERATIVES • MANUFACTURERS

May 20, 2024

The Honorable Glenn "GT" Thompson Chairman House Committee on Agriculture 1301 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable David Scott Ranking Member House Committee on Agriculture 1010 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Thompson and Ranking Member Scott:

The National Cotton Council strongly supports the Chairman's mark of the Farm Bill and urges the House Committee on Agriculture to report this legislation to the full House of Representatives by a strong bipartisan vote.

Cotton farmers across the country are struggling under enormous pressures. Labor, land, and equipment costs are much higher than they were just a few years ago. Meanwhile, interest rates remain elevated at a level not seen in decades. Cotton prices are below costs of production as U.S. cotton demand struggles in the face of increased competition from Brazilian and Australian cotton, as well as from the continued onslaught of Chinese polyester production. These financial pressures, along with the usual challenges of unpredictable weather, have left many of our producers struggling to hold on. Unless they receive relief, *some of these producers will no longer be farming by this time next year*.

The Chairman's mark offers a lifeline to our farmers, and one that could not come soon enough. Additionally, by increasing the competitiveness of the United States cotton industry, the bill addresses the needs of all segments throughout the marketing chain, from growers through to textile mills.

While the NCC applauds many provisions of the Chairman's mark, the following items are especially worth highlighting:

- The increase in the statutory reference price for seed cotton to 42 cents per pound;
- The enhancement of premium support for the Supplemental Coverage Option to 80 percent, along with a boost to the top coverage level to 90 percent;
- The raising of the Marketing Assistance Loan rate to 55 cents, coupled with changes to the program to improve cotton's competitiveness and flow;
- The raising of the Pima cotton loan rate to one dollar per pound, along with the addition of marketing loan repayment provisions;
- The increase in the Economic Adjustment Assistance for Textile Mills rate to five cents per pound; and
- The doubling of funding for the Market Access Program/Foreign Market Development

Taken together, these provisions will help to preserve our nation's fiber security during these challenging times.

While we are all aware that Committee action is a first step – not a final one – in a longer Farm Bill process, we must begin moving forward now. Please know that in the coming days and weeks, the National Cotton Council stands ready to assist your efforts in whatever we can.

Sincerely,

Joe Nicona

Joe Nicosia Chairman National Cotton Council

CC:

The Honorable Frank Lucas The Honorable Austin Scott The Honorable Rick Crawford The Honorable Scott DesJarlais The Honorable Doug LaMalfa The Honorable David Rouzer The Honorable Trent Kelly The Honorable Don Bacon The Honorable Mike Bost The Honorable Dusty Johnson The Honorable Jim Baird The Honorable Tracey Mann The Honorable Randy Feenstra The Honorable Mary Miller The Honorable Barry Moore The Honorable Kat Cammack The Honorable Brad Finstad The Honorable John Rose The Honorable Ronny Jackson The Honorable Marc Molinaro The Honorable Monica De La Cruz The Honorable Nick Langworthy The Honorable John Duarte The Honorable Zach Nunn The Honorable Mark Alford The Honorable Derrick Van Orden The Honorable Lori Chavez-DeRemer The Honorable Max Miller

The Honorable Jim Costa The Honorable Jim McGovern The Honorable Alma Adams The Honorable Abigail Spanberger The Honorable Jahana Hayes The Honorable Shontel Brown The Honorable Sharice Davids The Honorable Elissa Slotkin The Honorable Yadira Caraveo The Honorable Andrea Salinas The Honorable Marie Gluesenkamp Perez The Honorable Don Davis The Honorable Jill Tokuda The Honorable Nikki Budzinski The Honorable Eric Sorensen The Honorable Gabe Vasquez The Honorable Jasmine Crockett The Honorable Jonathan Jackson The Honorable Greg Casar The Honorable Chellie Pingree The Honorable Salud Carbajal The Honorable Angie Craig The Honorable Darren Soto The Honorable Sanford Bishop