Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 9, 2021

The Honorable Michael A. Khouri Chairman Federal Maritime Commission 800 North Capitol Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20573

Dear Chairman Khouri:

We are writing you today to share our mounting concern over reports that certain vesseloperating common carriers (VOCCs) are declining to ship U.S. agricultural commodity exports from our ports. These VOCCs serve as an integral link between American producers and overseas customers, without which contracts cannot be met and the ability to compete in or even access foreign markets is threatened. We appreciate the steps already taken by the Federal Maritime Commission to investigate these alarming reports and urge the Commission to resolve this matter. In the meantime, we call on the Commission to provide monthly updates to Congress until the matter is resolved.

Over the past year, American producers, exporters, and entire economic sectors have grappled with widespread delays, bottlenecks, and increasing fees at our ports. These challenges are exacerbated by reports that VOCCs are delivering shipments to U.S. ports and then electing to leave without refilling empty containers with American goods for export. Such activity constricts entire supply chains and propels trade to move only in an inbound direction. These conditions are unsustainable for exporters, put significant strain on the U.S. economy, and simply unacceptable.

The American agricultural sector, in particular, stands to be hit hard by the delays, congestion, and the reported discriminatory practices by VOCCs. With more than 20 percent of U.S. agricultural production aimed for export, reaching foreign markets is essential to American producers and the viability of our agricultural sector at large. It is cost prohibitive for producers of these agricultural commodities, particularly perishable products, to use alternative methods to fulfill overseas contracts in a dependable and affordable manner. Should it be found that VOCCs are predatory or unreasonable in refusing to export these American agricultural products or imposing unreasonable fees, they must be held accountable by the Commission for the harm they are causing our producers.

We appreciate and support Fact Finding No. 29, "International Ocean Transportation Supply Chain Engagement," launched by the Commission in March 2020, as well as its expansion in November 2020 to include reports of the practices listed above by certain VOCCs. As the nation and world grapples with the ongoing effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is essential that port operators and VOCCs honor their responsibilities and adhere to the laws that govern their roles in the global economy. Continued and largely unrestricted access to American ports means trade

opportunities should be reciprocal. Should the investigation reveal any wrongdoing, we urge the Commission to take appropriate enforcement actions to end such practices swiftly and decisively.

Thank you for your attention to this urgent matter and for considering our views. Time is a critical factor and we urge the Commission to expedite its fact finding and consideration of enforcement options. We look forward to the Commission providing monthly updates as Fact Finding No. 29 and other related Commission efforts progress.

Adrian Smith
Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson
Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Kevin McCarthy House Republican Leader

David Scott Member of Congress Sincerely,

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

nament:

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

mily Sampson

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Glenn 'GT' Thompson Member of Congress



Sanford Bishop Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Austin Scott

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress



Eric A. 'Rick' Crawford Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress A. Dem Jagusonti

A. Drew Ferguson, IV Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

Devin Nunes
Member of Congress

Tom Reed Member of Congress

Chris Jacobs Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

	2 11-11
fin Tanks	Brian tohy atrek
Jim Banks	Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Vicky Hartzler	angie Gaig
Vicky Hartzler	Angie Craig
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
anuna	Ken Calvert
Anthony Gonzalez	Ken Calvert
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
John Ow Rose	Allau M.D.
John Rose	Andy Harris, M.D.
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Ron Kind	Dad Star
Ron Kind	Darrell Issa
Member of Congress Makeopre milio	Member of Congress
Markwayne Mullin	Jodey C. Arrington
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Ro Re	Tracey Mann
Ro Khanna	Tracey Mann
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Tow The	James Comer

John Katko Member of Congress James Comer
James Comer
Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

caroe D. miller

Ami Ban

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Frank Lucas Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress Lade Bergone

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Barbare Lee

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Antonio Delgado Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

ench Hin

J. French Hill Member of Congress Michelle Fischbach

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Czullie azene

Cindy Axne Member of Congress

James R. Baird Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress Glin M. Strfant

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Tom Emmer
Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

on's Matsu

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D.
Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee
Member of Congress

ROLW ADD

Rick Allen Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

blest B. Aderbal to

Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress

John Rutherford Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

David Kustoff Member of Congress

David Kusto

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress Jahana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress

Cc: The Honorable Rebecca F. Dye, Commissioner, Federal Maritime Commission The Honorable Daniel B. Maffei, Commissioner, Federal Maritime Commission The Honorable Louis E. Sola, Commissioner, Federal Maritime Commission The Honorable Carl W. Bentzel, Commissioner, Federal Maritime Commission