## STUDENT PAPER AWARDS PRESENTATION Thomas D. Valco USDA, ARS Stoneville, MS Shay L. Simpson Texas A&M University College Station, TX

The Cotton Industry Support Group (CISG) sponsored a Student Paper Presentation Competition during the Beltwide Cotton Conferences. The goal of this award is to promote interest into Cotton Engineering/Ginning Research and to help develop presentation skills of our potential industry leaders. The first competition was held at the 2007 Beltwide Cotton Conference in New Orleans in 2007. The winners were Brock Faulkner, first place; Froi Aquino, second place; and Joan Hernandez, third place. All the winners were students at Texas A&M University and received a plaque and a check for \$200, 150 and 100, respectively.

For the 2008 competition at the Beltwide Cotton Conference in Nashville, TN, there were four entries, three from TAMU and one from UGA (three students that entered were unable to attend the meeting). The competition rules and score sheets were sent to each of the students prior to the presentations and judges were selected to score the presentations and rank the students.

The 2008 CISG Student Paper Presentation Competition winners are:

First Place - Stewart Skloss for his presentation of Evaluation of TEOM method of the Measurement of Particulate Matter, Stewart J. Skloss, Bryan W. Shaw and Calvin B. Parnell, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Second Place - Mark Hamann for his presentation of Economic Analysis of Transporting Seed Cotton with Semi Tractor Trailers. M. Hamann, C. B. Parnell, Jr., S. L. Simpson, S. A. Emsoff, and C. Hammock, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Third Place - Brenda Ortiz for her presentation of Evaluation of Variable Rate of Nematicides on Cotton According to Nematode Risk Zones. Brenda V. Ortiz(1), Calvin Perry(1), Danna Sullivan (2) and George Vellidis(1), (1)University of Georgia – Tifton Campus, Tifton, GA and (2) USDA-ARS SEWRL, Tifton GA.



Stewart Skloss (right) was first place and received a plaque and \$200 from Shay Simpson (left).



Mark Hamann (right) was second place and received a plaque and \$150 from Shay Simpson (left).



Brenda Ortiz was third place and received a plaque and \$100.



During the awards ceremony, Tommy Valco (left) and Shay Simpson (right), Co-Chairs of the CISG Student Paper Awards, congratulates winners Stewart Skloss and Mark Hamann. Brenda Ortiz was unable to attend the awards. The plagues were developed and designed by Annetta Ebelhar, USDA ARS Technology Transfer Assistant. Award funds were provided by Kelley Green, President CISG.