Full Text
(18 K)

Overview of Southeast Cotton Defoliation Practices

M. G. Patterson


States in the Southeast region are Georgia, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Alabama. Current members of the work group from this region are Ford Eastin, Barry Brecke, Keith Edmisten, Ken Lege, Charles Burmester, and Mike Patterson. Former members who have moved on to other duties and/or states include Mitchell Roof and John Wilcut. We represent a geographic region which is somewhat similar in climate, land and cultural practices. Virtually all cotton grown in the Southeast is upland cotton which is spindle picked. Cotton is planted from April 1 to June 15 using mostly conventional tillage (chisel or moldboard plow, disk, cultivation) methods, although about five percent of the acreage falls under conservation tillage culture, and harvested from early September to mid November. Cotton acreage has increased over 100 percent in the Southeast over the past five years, with Georgia and North Carolina acreage increasing over 200 percent.

Reprinted from Proceedings of the 1996 Beltwide Cotton Conferences pg. 87
©National Cotton Council, Memphis TN

[Main TOC] | [TOC] | [TOC by Section] | [Search] | [Help]
[Next] Next Page
Document last modified Sunday, Dec 6 1998